Merry Horse Cup

24 May

I love my cup. It’s the merry horse, leaping like he has wings on his heart. I’m not sure I could ever make another horse as merry as this one. 😀

The Merry Horse Cup

It’s lovely and thin — I can feel the volume it encloses and the thinness as I hold it. The hand carved background is a great place for my happy little pony to live. The glaze is called Twilight, and it’s a little different every time I make it (which I actually like). The carved portion isn’t glazed on the outside. It’s colored with an iron oxide wash. It doesn’t wash off and it gives the clay a variable warm color. I discovered this technique by accident, but it turns out I’m not the first to have used it. Reinventing the wheel . . . again.  😆 Every time I think I’ve made a great discovery, I soon find someone’s been there before me.

I have other cups like this one, but this one isn’t for sale. There aren’t any at my etsy site at the moment, but if you’re interested, let me know. I can send you a picture of some that I do have, or make one especially for you.

Leave a Reply

