Sylvan Lake Watercolor Paintings

5 May

Sylvan Lake is a beauty spot in the central Black Hills of SD, and one of my favorite places (not that I’ve seen anything like all my potentially favorite places!) For more images of Sylvan Lake and more beautiful Western South Dakota scenery, you can visit my Journey Into the Black Hills blog. How’s that for a shameless plug?

That said, I’ve been taking a watercolor class for the last several months along with my daughter and now, my mother as well. It’s kind of a cool class in that we do pretty much what we want and the instructor wanders around, asks and answers questions, and gives tips and advice where needed. Here are a couple of paintings I’ve recently completed:

Sylvan Lake Dam, Lakeside View

This one is about 13 x 22, on Canson cold press watercolor paper from a photo I took last spring (2010) I’ve been wanting to paint this photo ever since, and have only just now gotten around to it. Yet another good reason to take a class; to make myself do the things I want to do.

Sylvan Lake Overflowing

This painting is smaller; about 8″ x 13″; again, on Canson cold press watercolor paper. From another photo taken on the same day as the one above. I really enjoyed making these paintings. Perhaps I’ll do more soon. I certainly have enough pictures on the computer to keep me busy, even if I never painted any other place. 😉

2 Responses to “Sylvan Lake Watercolor Paintings”

  1. lindahalcombfineart May 6, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    These are great! I can see how much you love this location. The skies are very nicely done and can be tricky.

  2. cindyinsd May 6, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Thanks so much, Linda! 🙂 Your encouragement means a lot.

Leave a Reply

