House ATC Swap (Part 1)

11 Feb

Have you heard of Artist Trading Cards (ATCs)? I thought they sounded so silly until I actually made one, then I was in love. ATCs can be any medium, any style, any anything at all. They’re 3.5″ x 2.5″ cards of any material; miniature art works intended for trading with other artists. The first one I ever did was a requested donation for a plein air event I participated in, and it was so much fun I went right out and bought myself a pack of Strathmore watercolor cards. You can get the cards in all sorts of papers, canvas, etc., but you can also easily cut your own and have an even wider selection.

Here are a couple I just made for a “swap” at another website. The theme for the swap is “houses,” or I would never have thought to do a house. But I figured it would stretch me, and these houses were so much fun to do. I have two more, but I haven’t scanned them yet and one is still a little tacky, so I’ll post them later.

Neighbors


This one is ink and watercolor wash done using Inktense watercolor pencils. There are also a few touches with a white gel pen. I wish I was here, but the next picture looks more like where I am right now. 😦 I am ready for springtime and little birds and rain and stuff!

Christmas Snow


And this one I started by painting on some left-over acrylic paint from a project on which I didn’t use it all. Hated to waste it, you know. The trees and other details are Faber Castelle Pitt Artist Pens (the gray set of brush pens and a black super-fine).

I didn’t know it was going to be snowing until I decided to try a thin gesso wash over everything. That was also when some funny scratches suggested the roof lines of the barn-style house. 😉 Lots of fun to paint.

If you haven’t done already, go cut something up and make yourself a couple of these amazingly fun little gems. You’ll be so glad you did!

2 Responses to “House ATC Swap (Part 1)”

  1. lindahalcombfineart February 11, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    I love doing ATC’s. I make them all year and send them to my family with their Christmas Cards. They each get an original work of art. I also send them to people that are particularly supportive of me and my art. They make great thank you’s.

    • cindyinsd February 11, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      And your cards are so beautiful, Linda. A genuine inspiration as well as something to aspire to! 🙂 Thanks for visiting, too, especially as I post soooo erratically. 😉

Leave a Reply

