Watercolor Pencils

30 Apr

I just got a new set of Derwent Inktense water soluble pencils. I already had a smaller set of Caran d’Ache watercolor pencils, but the inktense pencils were supposed to be a lot brighter and also to become permanent after they’ve been dissolved once. So I put it out that I’d like to try them and lo and behold they showed up on my birthday. Yay!

I did two artist trading cards using Bristol board cards. Here’s the one I did with Caran d’Ache.

Overhanging Spruce

To be fair, keep in mind I don’t have nearly as many colors available in this set, and also that I did this one on site, in a rush in between appointments so I didn’t take a lot of time to work on darkening the dark areas as I might have done otherwise.

Here’s the one I did the night before using the Inktense pencils by Derwent:

High Tide

It’s just a little doodle from my imagination, but I was really pleased at how bright the pencils are. No struggle here getting truly dark darks.  The trick is not to accidentally go too dark. I tried re-wetting some trial marks with these pencils, and it is possible to fade the colors I tried a bit, so they’re not as permanent as inks. Still, they stay down pretty stubbornly, which is either a blessing or an inconvenience depending on what you want to do. And they become semi-permanent quickly, making it difficult to lift color even moments after it’s been applied.

I also have some Prismacolor water soluble pencils, but I don’t have a trading card on them yet. Maybe I’ll modify this post in a day or two to include one so you can see all three.

I’ve tried to get the photographs as close as possible to the way the paintings actually look, but that’s kind of difficult to do. Still, I think you can see the different effects with the two types of pencils. Here’s another one I did a week or so ago using both the Caran d’Ache and the Prismacolor pencils:

Black-Eyed Susan

This is on a Strathmore 140 lb cold press greeting card blank, and as you can see, the tooth of the paper did help me to apply more pigment. Most of the brighter colors came from the Prismacolor pencils, though. I wasn’t real happy with the background on this one, and I kind of wished I hadn’t identified the plant on the front, but hey, nobody’s perfect. I love these flowers, so I may try this one again another time.

4 Responses to “Watercolor Pencils”

  1. Roy April 30, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    They are superb to work with.

  2. lesliepaints May 1, 2010 at 2:27 am #

    Good job, Cindy.I really like the brightness of the black-eyed susan! I have never tried the caran d’ache. Thanks for the info on them.

  3. cindyinsd May 2, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    Yes, I like them very much, Roy–plus I enjoyed looking round your blog. 🙂

    Thanks, Leslie. I bought that Caran d’Ache set in a moment of weakness when I had a 40% off coupon in my hand. :blush: It’s nice to have the additional colors, but they’re not particularly easy to lay down pigment with. They’re better on water color paper, of course, but still not as easy to work with as the other ones I have. I like the Prismacolor pencils a lot, and I also have a tiny set of Derwent regular water color pencils that I don’t much like. But I see Derwent has now come out with a new formulation which they say is a lot softer. I think I’ve probably got enough watercolor pencils now, though. 😆 I’m afraid I’m kind of an addict.

  4. lesliepaints May 2, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    LOL! I can think of a lot worse things than colored pencils to be addicted to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

