Pottery Mini-Gallery

17 Apr

It’s been a while since I posted any pottery stuff here. I’ve been doing pottery–I’ve just been kinda lazy about photographing it. Here are some pieces I currently have up on Etsy, with a few notes about how I made them.
Stanley Bison started out life as a wheel-thrown bottle. His curly hump is made with extruded clay. A clay extruder is kind of like a cookie press, or the Play Dough machine you may be familiar with–you put in the dough, press down the handle, and out come star-shaped noodles (or whatever shape). So he’s wheel thrown and hand altered.

This wee dragon was a lot of fun to make. He’s entirely hand sculpted and clothed in an iron oxide wash. I like dragons.

This is Gramps the Magic Dragon. I made his body by wrapping a slab of textured clay around some wadded up newspaper. From there, I added on all the hand-built features. He was a lot of work, and I was really pleased with how he turned out.

On a more practical vein . . . this flowerpot was thrown in one piece on the wheel. I then poked in a drainage hole with a wooden tool (and my finger) and added on the pinecones from a mold I made–with a pinecone. Innovative, huh?

This bowl is wheel thrown and hand carved. The brown part is unglazed, washed with iron oxide. The iron oxide becomes permanent when the piece is fired and I love the nice warm color it gives the clay.

Well, that’s all for now. Any questions you have about how to make these things are welcome.

Blessings, Cindy

2 Responses to “Pottery Mini-Gallery”

  1. lesliepaints April 18, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    That buffalo is awesome.I like dragons, also, but the buffalo stands out !

  2. cindyinsd April 18, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    Thanks, Leslie–It’s so nice to have you here. The bison were fun to make, but time consuming. As you see from my screen name, we live in SD–that’s western SD, so bison are big here. 😉

Leave a Reply

