Colored Pencils–Not Just for Second Grade

3 Apr

Colored pencils are a lot of fun. I remember not liking them in school because of the pale colors. I like bright. Not psychedelic so much, but bright for sure. The world is bright and rich and deep with colors and my favorite art is, too. So colored pencils . . . well, don’t buy the ones in the office supply aisle at Walmart and don’t settle for 16 colors. I’ve just been messing around with them and here’s a project I did with Prismacolors from a book called Colored and Water Color Pencils by Gary Greene.

Tea Rose Photo

This is the photograph the author used to design his project.

The author's interpretation of the photo

The author's rose above and mine below

And this is my finished rose--after I made a few more changes from the one above.

The reason mine is brighter is that I read ahead and learned about burnishing. You use a white or a colorless pencil to go over everything and fill in all the gaps in the paper. It makes your colors deeper. Only once you’ve burnished the picture, it limits how many more changes you can make to the colors. At some point the paper won’t hold any more pigment. Looking at these pictures I’m kind of happy to notice that mine looks like I traced it–and I didn’t! Yay! ‘Course it’s just a rose. A face would be a lot harder.

Anyhow, Hurray for colored pencils–good ones, anyway. 🙂

2 Responses to “Colored Pencils–Not Just for Second Grade”

  1. lesliepaints April 18, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    Very nice, Jenny! Looks like you worked hard on this. I like colored pencil. It is time consuming, though. I agree with you that prismacolor is the way to go.

  2. cindyinsd April 18, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Thanks, Leslie

    Yes, they are time consuming. I think a lot of people like them because they’re so precise and you can get really close to photographic while still adding in the artistic elements you may want. Photographic realism isn’t that much of a value for me (good thing since I’m not particularly good at it!), but I do admire it in others. 😉 Anyway, I do like them. It’s daunting to start a project knowing how long it’s likely to take, though.

    Nice to have you here!

    Cindy

Leave a Reply

