Our Little Pond

2 Apr

This is our little duck pond (okay, the ducks only come in spring, before they have their babies). I enjoyed painting it though I’m not all that excited about how it turned out. I haven’t done a lot of plein aire painting (that’s artist talk for painting outside–in case I’m not the only one who didn’t know this) and it’s harder than I thought. Photographs have edges–it’s one of their best features as far as painting from them is concerned. You know where to put stuff that way. Anyhow, it was fun to do and I might even get good at it if I live long enough. 😉

4 Responses to “Our Little Pond”

  1. lindahalcombfineart April 2, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Very ambitious and well done. I like the ripples in the water. Our duck pond is in the top of our winter pool cover. We have 3 ducks that visit us every spring…whether we want them to or not!

  2. cindyinsd April 2, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Thanks, LInda–that’s very kind of you. It’s been a long time since I did any watercolor. I had to dig my paints out from under stuff. 😆 And today I’d have to dig the pond out from under 11 inches of snow (so far). Your ducks sound funny (and messy). My hubby is still home on account of the snow, but I want to have a look round your blog when I can do it without ignoring him.

  3. lesliepaints April 20, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    I think it’s great, Cindy! You captured a lot of movement in this piece and included tons of information. The addition of the overturned boat and the duck is a plus!

  4. cindyinsd April 20, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Thanks, Leslie. I may try this one again, only I’ll make the pond bigger than it really is. 😉

Leave a Reply

